Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

General discussion about RailWorks, your thoughts, questions, news and views!

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby K2rover on Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:58 pm

749006 wrote:
K2rover wrote:Is there no passenger view with the AP 321? I always think it's good to have some sort of pass view as it gives a different outlook on a route. I think I'll stick with the RSC 321 for now as I think it was one of their better pieces of rolling stock. But, the AP one does look awesome to drive and is graphically very nice!


How do you watch for signals whilst sitting in the passenger section of the coach?

Maybe a model of the DLR is reqired to do two things at once :)


I don't use a passenger view for long on a journey, it's just I like the different feeling of speed it gives, particularly when scenery is rather dull and boring (e.g. Great Eastern Main Line). No passenger view on the Northeast Corridor stock either on the Acela Express or that horrible default locomotive with a box blocking your view has always made me not return to it much. I have to say without a passenger view, the San Diego - LA Pacific Surfliner route wouldn't be half as enjoyable as it is. I love sitting in those comfy chairs looking out to sea :wink:
K2rover
Been on the forums for a while
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:13 pm

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby Fincra5 on Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:28 pm

I don't think i've ever really used passenger view... its very boring....

AP one is a far better model with so many more features, something about the RSC model just doesn't look right externally..
Image
User avatar
Fincra5
Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 6:29 pm

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby scorpion71 on Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:24 pm

K2rover wrote:Is there no passenger view with the AP 321? I always think it's good to have some sort of pass view as it gives a different outlook on a route. I think I'll stick with the RSC 321 for now as I think it was one of their better pieces of rolling stock. But, the AP one does look awesome to drive and is graphically very nice!


I agree it's always nice to have a passenger view, it's nice just to chill and take in the scenery. I've got RSC/DG 321 so I might look into editing the bin files so I can get that passenger view into the AP one - it's not a great pass view, but it's better than nowt!
Class 40's enjoyed their working life so much they whistled whilst they worked
User avatar
scorpion71
Well Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 11:37 am
Location: Around and About, Here and There

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby dj0393 on Wed Feb 05, 2014 6:23 pm

Just to say a huge thankyou to all the powerhouse team for another truly outstanding product. Loved the 90 now loving the 321.

Now can anyone help me decide which one to drive arrrrrggghhhh. Now that's a tuff decision :lol:

Dave
dj0393
Getting the hang of things now
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 10:42 pm
Location: North of Aberdeen (Formerly from Bristol)

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby starmedia on Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:27 pm

Still loving this product :) I've noticed from Google images that there are variations on the c321 cab layout, AP have matched the circular buttons on the drivers desk layout whereas there are also units with square buttons. Another major difference is the position of the AWS sunflower & sounder, on the AP c321 it's just there on the right of the main desk of course in a vertical layout ... where the alternative layout sees the AWS sunflower & sounder in a horizontal layout next to the DRA device ... I say this as (bad me) I was quick to slag off the RSC/DTG c321 for dreaming up their cab ... I was of course comparing it to the AP work in progress shots at the time, but am since better educated ! I feel quite bad ;) So it's actually good to have both products, you can consider the RSC/DTG product a 'light' or 'simple' version to AP's 'Advanced' version, and it appears rather than dreaming up their cab layout RSC/DTG appear to have modelled their cab on the units used in my local (GEML) area. What they've maybe done wrong however is used that cab on their FCC release for the ECML, I'm curious as to why RSC/DTG had achievements up for a Greater Anglia c321 which then vanished to be replaced by 'Class321Pack02' in the eventual FCC release ...

The simple version of this post would say that both creators have made a credible product, both are worth having if you can ... the AP version is the definitive model however :)
starmedia
Getting the hang of things now
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 12:00 am

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby Anthony061 on Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:30 pm

starmedia wrote:I'm curious as to why RSC/DTG had achievements up for a Greater Anglia c321 which then vanished to be replaced by 'Class321Pack02' in the eventual FCC release ...
definitive model however :)

Licencing issue maybe?
Anthony
Anthony061
Been on the forums for a while
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Cardiff

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby starmedia on Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:49 pm

Yes more than likely Anthony ... it's good to have both actually with the slight differences it makes it seem I've got the whole class ;)

I notice deep within the AP folder structure their unit is located within "Class321Pack01" ...

One livery we don't have that I can think of is the early white & green BAA / Stansted Express oh and the bright yellow special livery with the Dutch National Railway logo (to celebrate Harwich boat trains ?) ...
starmedia
Getting the hang of things now
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 12:00 am

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby Alexfenn591 on Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:52 pm

Hopefully we'll get a route from York-Leeds-Doncaster-Sheffield and so we can run the class 321 on it :D
Alexfenn591
Getting the hang of things now
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 2:10 pm

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby Anthony061 on Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:47 pm

Alexfenn591 wrote:Hopefully we'll get a route from York-Leeds-Doncaster-Sheffield and so we can run the class 321 on it :D

Transpennine Route is in production: viewtopic.php?f=365&t=107161
Thread is currently locked to prevent bumping/constant when will it be out posts.
Anthony
Anthony061
Been on the forums for a while
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Cardiff

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby 89001 on Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:12 pm

Anyone else have problems when installing the pack...? I keep on getting "I/O Error 32" or "I/O Error 1224" when trying to install the pack. Must have tried 30-40 times by now... :cry:
Must actually finish creating a scenario one of these days...!?
89001
Getting the hang of things now
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:54 pm

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby Alexfenn591 on Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:57 pm

89001 wrote:Anyone else have problems when installing the pack...? I keep on getting "I/O Error 32" or "I/O Error 1224" when trying to install the pack. Must have tried 30-40 times by now... :cry:


I had that, do you by any chance have McAfee internet security? I had that and I kept on getting errors! I had to uninstall McAfee, download and install the class 321 and then reinstall McAfee.
Hope that helps!

Regards,

Alex.
Alexfenn591
Getting the hang of things now
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 2:10 pm

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby 37180sirdyfed on Fri Feb 07, 2014 6:35 pm

89001 wrote:Anyone else have problems when installing the pack...? I keep on getting "I/O Error 32" or "I/O Error 1224" when trying to install the pack. Must have tried 30-40 times by now... :cry:

i had the same thing... try temporarily turning off your firewall and virus scan (ie mcafee).. then install the AP pack... worked for me :wink:
User avatar
37180sirdyfed
Well Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 3:29 pm
Location: Berkshire & South Wales

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby Anthony061 on Fri Feb 07, 2014 6:35 pm

89001 wrote:Anyone else have problems when installing the pack...? I keep on getting "I/O Error 32" or "I/O Error 1224" when trying to install the pack. Must have tried 30-40 times by now... :cry:

Contact AP, they'll be able to help :D
Anthony
Anthony061
Been on the forums for a while
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:21 pm
Location: Cardiff

Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby 89001 on Fri Feb 07, 2014 7:21 pm

Did do last night, awaiting reply. I know AP will be able to help, and have a great deal of faith in them and their products, just irritating as I know it'll be as good as their 142 and 90/DVT pack...
89001
Getting the hang of things now
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:54 pm

Re: Armstrong Powerhouse Class 321

Postby gassa on Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:47 am

Had same problem with I/O errors. If you do not want to turn off your virus checker then try this advice I received from Richard yesterday. "try installing the main pack to your desktop and then copying/pasting the ‘Assets’, ‘Content’ & ‘Manuals’ folders to your RailWorks directory?" Worked a treat for me but I had to re - install the livery pack afterwards.
gassa
Getting the hang of things now
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 10:51 am

PreviousNext

Return to [TS13/TS14/TS15] General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dave4468, FoggyMorning, jontrains12, Kitform, tubemad and 20 guests